Best Mouse Pads with Wireless Charging (2026)
Mouse Pads

Best Mouse Pads with Wireless Charging (2026)

Qi2 desk mats, RGB charging pads and in-motion systems like POWERPLAY 2 compared — what each one charges, which mice are supported, and what to skip.

29 min read

Disclosure: Some links in this article are affiliate links. We may earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.

A wireless charging mouse pad is the rare desk upgrade that can either remove a routine entirely or add a coil you never use, and the deciding factor is which of two unrelated technologies sits under the mouse. The general mouse pad buying guide covers surface, size and glide; this article covers the charging layer specifically, because that is where most buying mistakes happen.

The category is routinely described as one thing. It is two. Continuous in-motion systems such as Logitech G POWERPLAY 2 and Razer HyperFlux V2 use proprietary electromagnetic transfer and a dedicated puck to keep specific gaming mice powered while they are being moved and clicked. Qi and Qi2 mats and desk mats instead place a localized coil in one region of the surface, and whatever sits on that coil charges — a phone, a pair of earbuds, or a Qi-capable mouse that is parked and aligned. A Qi logo therefore tells you nothing about whether a mouse will charge during play.

That distinction reshapes the shortlist. The proprietary side is a two-horse race with verified compatibility lists, a hard dependency on which mouse you already own, and a documented incompatibility with fully metal desks. The Qi side is a broader field of desk mats where the useful questions are how much power the pad can pass through from your adapter, where the coil sits relative to a right-handed mousing arc, and whether the electronics are separable from the surface if one of them fails.

This guide covers nine currently sold products across both technologies, plus the discontinued models that still occupy the top of search results and the adjacent Razer dock that keeps getting miscategorized as a pad. It is written for anyone who has decided they want charging built into the desk and now needs to know which one actually charges what.

As an Amazon Associate, MouseGearHQ earns from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.

Quick picks

Pick Best for Charging technology Charges a mouse while you play
Logitech G POWERPLAY 2 Anyone already on a compatible Logitech G mouse Proprietary, continuous Yes
Razer HyperFlux V2 Basilisk, Naga and Cobra owners Proprietary, continuous Yes
JOURNEY ALTI PLAY Gaming desk that also charges a phone and earbuds Qi2, localized No
JOURNEY ALTI LIFT Office and productivity desk Qi2, localized No
ASUS ROG Balteus Qi ROG Chakram owners who want a hard surface Qi, localized No
Manhattan 425513 Buyers who want published specs and a 3-year warranty Qi, 10 W localized No
Gimars G-RGB-W03 Lowest-cost route to XXL, RGB and a Qi zone Qi, up to 15 W localized No
Miroddi charging RGB mat A pad with a built-in magnetic phone stand Qi, up to 15 W localized No
TopMade HD76 left-side charger Right-handed setups that want the phone off the arc Qi, up to 15 W localized No

Why "wireless charging mouse pad" covers two different products

In-motion charging delivers power across the usable mousing surface, not into a single spot, and it only works with hardware the manufacturer has certified. Logitech uses a POWERCORE module installed inside a compatible mouse; Razer uses a dedicated HyperFlux V2 puck. Neither is a Qi receiver, and a generic Qi coil cannot substitute for either one. Neither system accepts phones, earbuds or generic Qi devices.

Proprietary pucks are also not interchangeable with each other. Razer states explicitly that the removable Wireless Charging Puck used by the Mouse Dock Pro relies on a different charging technology and will not work with HyperFlux V2, even though that same puck can be charged on other Qi-certified chargers.

Qi and Qi2 work the other way around. The coil is fixed, the device must be parked over it and aligned, and the delivered rate depends on the receiving device, the case in the way and the wall adapter feeding the pad. A mat rated at 15 W does not push 15 W into every phone that lands on it — JOURNEY's own ALTI LIFT documentation recommends a 30 W or higher USB-C wall charger to reach its rated output, and Manhattan's 10 W mode requires a 9 V-capable adapter that is not included in the box.

One physical constraint applies to both proprietary systems: Logitech and Razer each document that their current in-motion mats do not work correctly on a fully metal desk because the charging field is disrupted. That belongs in the purchase decision, not in a footnote after the pad has already been unboxed.

What makes a great wireless charging mouse pad

  • A verified compatibility list, not a logo. POWERPLAY 2 names 11 compatible Logitech G mice; HyperFlux V2 currently verifies six Razer mice. Balteus Qi names two. Generic mats name none.
  • A surface you would buy on its own. Cloth, hard and hybrid surfaces behave very differently under a sensor and a set of skates, and a charging coil does not change that. The materials guide covers static versus dynamic friction and base firmness if you are choosing between a hard Qi pad and a cloth one.
  • Separation between electronics and surface. POWERPLAY 2 uses a removable cloth layer over the charging base, and JOURNEY's ALTI mats use a detachable magnetic charging panel. When either the surface or the electronics fails on an integrated mat, the whole product is affected.
  • Enough current from the wall. Qi output is conditional. Plan for a suitable USB-C adapter, and check the input specification of the pad rather than the headline wattage of the box.
  • A footprint that fits the desk. Extended Qi mats commonly run 800 × 300 mm to 900 × 400 mm; the ALTI PLAY measures 900 × 400 × 4 mm on the main mat plus a 400 × 100 × 7 mm charging panel, and its total weight is 1,681 g.
  • Where the coil sits. A charging zone in the middle-left of a wide mat competes with the mousing arc for right-handed users; a left-side or magnetic-panel layout keeps the phone out of it.

1. Logitech G POWERPLAY 2 — the widest verified mouse ecosystem

Specs and characteristics

Charging base ~344 mm wide, 320 mm left side / 284 mm right side, 335 g
Removable surface ~343 × 283/284 mm performance cloth, 1.3 mm
Base height 2.2 mm
Charging method Proprietary POWERCORE in-motion transfer
Cable Fixed 1.8 m / 5.9 ft, USB-A, USB 2.0
Receiver None built in — the mouse uses its own
Lighting None
Software None required by the pad
Warranty 2-year limited

POWERPLAY 2 was announced on 25 February 2025 and released the following month. It is the second generation of Logitech's continuous-charging line, and the most consequential spec is one that is easy to miss: the current package ships with the performance cloth surface only. The original 2017 POWERPLAY included both a G240 cloth layer and a G440 hard layer, and several competing write-ups still carry that bundle forward. POWERPLAY 2 does not.

Logitech also removed the original's integrated LIGHTSPEED receiver. The mouse connects through its own receiver as normal, which frees the pad from any firmware or pairing role but means the pad is purely a power surface.

Verified compatible mice: G309 LIGHTSPEED, G502 X PLUS, G502 X LIGHTSPEED, G502 LIGHTSPEED, G703 LIGHTSPEED, G903 LIGHTSPEED, PRO X SUPERLIGHT 2, PRO X SUPERLIGHT 2 DEX, PRO X SUPERLIGHT, PRO 2 LIGHTSPEED and PRO Wireless.

Not compatible: phones, earbuds, generic Qi devices, any mouse without a POWERCORE module, and fully metal desks.

Pros

  • 11 verified mice, the broadest list of any current in-motion system
  • Charges continuously while the mouse is in use, including during play
  • Surface layer is physically separate from the charging base, so replacing it is practical
  • No software requirement on the pad itself

Cons

  • Buying in requires a compatible Logitech G mouse, or upgrading to one
  • No hard surface option in the current package
  • No RGB, no built-in receiver
  • Fixed, non-detachable 1.8 m cable

Verdict: the rational first pick if, and only if, you already own one of the 11 listed Logitech G mice. Bought without that mouse, POWERPLAY 2 is an expensive cloth pad.

Perfect for: an existing Logitech G owner who wants to stop thinking about charging and who is not upgrading brands.

Check the current price on Amazon

2. Razer HyperFlux V2 — hard or cloth, with a built-in 1,000 Hz receiver

Specs and characteristics

Dimensions 360 × 275 × 5 mm
Editions Hard Edition, micro-textured surface; Cloth Edition
Base Anti-slip rubber
Charging method Proprietary HyperFlux V2 puck, included
Receiver Integrated 1,000 Hz mouse transceiver — the mouse can pair to the mat
Lighting Chroma RGB, 16.8 million colours, 15 zones
Software Synapse 4, with a Battery Health Optimizer threshold from 50% to 80%
Connection USB-C plus USB-C-to-USB-A adapter
Capacity One paired and charged mouse at a time
Warranty 1 year

Launched on 3 June 2025, HyperFlux V2 is the closest thing on the market to POWERPLAY 2 with an aesthetic. It ships in two separately sold editions, so the surface decision is made at purchase rather than through an accessory. The integrated 1,000 Hz transceiver is a genuine convenience — the mouse can pair directly to the mat rather than occupying a second USB port — though independent testing flags both the 1,000 Hz ceiling and the non-detachable cable as the system's practical trade-offs.

Verified compatible mice: Basilisk V3 Pro, Basilisk V3 Pro 35K, Naga V2 Pro, Cobra HyperSpeed, Cobra Pro and Naga V3 Pro. Razer's generic compatibility matrix lags behind the Naga V3 Pro's product-specific page, which explicitly confirms support.

Not compatible: phones, generic Qi devices, unsupported Razer mice, the Mouse Dock Pro charging puck, and fully metal desks.

Pros

  • Hard or cloth surface choice within the same system
  • 15-zone Chroma RGB, which no other current in-motion system offers
  • Built-in 1,000 Hz transceiver removes one receiver from your ports
  • Battery Health Optimizer lets you cap charging between 50% and 80%

Cons

  • Six verified mice against Logitech's 11, and none of them are a Viper or DeathAdder
  • Charging puck is proprietary and Mat/Dock pucks are not cross-compatible
  • Non-detachable cable and a 1,000 Hz receiver ceiling
  • One mouse at a time

Verdict: the choice if you already run a Basilisk, Naga or Cobra. If you do not, the compatibility list makes the decision for you.

Perfect for: Razer mouse owners who want in-motion charging plus desk lighting in one purchase.

Check the current price on Amazon

3. JOURNEY ALTI PLAY — Qi2 desk mat for a gaming setup

Specs and characteristics

Main mat 900 × 400 × 4 mm
Charging panel 400 × 100 × 7 mm, detachable, magnetic, mounts either side
Weight 1,681 g
Surface Fine-woven Lycra micro-weave
Base Natural rubber, anti-slip
Charging Qi2 — 15 W phone, 5 W earbuds, simultaneous
Input USB-C, 5 V/2 A, 9 V/3 A or 12 V/2.5 A
Output USB-C port, 20 W max
Lighting RGB, nine colours, four brightness levels, hardware controlled
Software None
Warranty 1 year

The ALTI PLAY launched on 11 February 2025 and is the more performance-oriented of JOURNEY's two charging mats. Its distinguishing engineering choice is the detachable magnetic panel: the electronics live in a 400 × 100 mm module that can be attached to either side of the mat, which keeps the charging hardware off the main mousing surface and makes it equally workable for left- and right-side phone placement. The LED system is rated at 1.3 W maximum with a stated 50,000-hour lifetime.

It is not a mouse-charging mat. JOURNEY publishes no mouse compatibility list, and although a Qi-capable mouse parked on the coil could in principle charge there, that is a generic property of Qi rather than something the manufacturer validates. Treat the 15 W figure as a ceiling that depends on the phone, the case and the adapter feeding the USB-C input.

Pros

  • Detachable charging panel keeps electronics separate from the main surface
  • Qi2 with simultaneous phone and earbud charging
  • 20 W USB-C passthrough output for a second device
  • Large 900 × 400 mm mousing area plus a real charging module

Cons

  • No mouse compatibility list at all
  • RGB and charging both require the panel to stay powered
  • Long-term owner history is far thinner than for Logitech or Razer hardware

Verdict: the strongest current Qi2 option for a gaming desk where the mouse stays wired or conventionally charged and the pad's job is to clear phone clutter.

Perfect for: a mixed gaming and work desk that wants one mat, one cable and a phone that charges without a separate stand.

Check the current price on Amazon

4. JOURNEY ALTI LIFT — Qi2 desk mat for a productivity setup

Specs and characteristics

Main mat 730 × 370 × 4 mm
Charging panel Detachable magnetic module, mounts left or right
Surfaces Reversible — vegan/PU leather and felt
Storage Hidden layer for documents
Charging Qi2 — 15 W phone, 5 W earbuds, simultaneous
Phone stand Integrated, tilting and swiveling, magnetic
Cable 1.5 m USB-C to USB-C included
Power source 30 W or higher USB-C wall charger recommended
Lighting None
Warranty 1 year

Launched on 16 November 2025 and still current, the ALTI LIFT is the desk-mat-first product in JOURNEY's line. The reversible felt and PU leather surfaces and the hidden document layer make it a productivity accessory, and the integrated magnetic stand turns the charging zone into something you interact with rather than a coil you discover by feel. It includes a magnetic ring for phones without MagSafe.

There is no RGB and no software, which is consistent with the office positioning. Note that the wall charger is not part of the product: the Qi2 panel is rated at 15 W for phones and 5 W for earbuds, but reaching its rated output depends on the adapter you supply. Smartwatch charging is not validated on the official product page, so do not count on it.

Pros

  • Qi2 charging with a phone stand that solves coil alignment permanently
  • Reversible felt and PU leather surfaces for a non-gaming desk
  • Detachable panel, so the electronics are not bonded to the whole mat
  • Simultaneous phone and earbud charging

Cons

  • Requires a 30 W or higher USB-C charger that is not included
  • No RGB and no lighting controls
  • No mouse compatibility validation
  • 730 × 370 mm is narrower than an extended gaming mat

Verdict: the smartest pick if the desk is for work rather than play and the phone spends more time on the mat than the mouse does.

Perfect for: office, hybrid and home-office setups where a phone stand and a clean felt surface matter more than a wide mousing field.

Check the current price on Amazon

5. ASUS ROG Balteus Qi — a hard pad with a Qi corner

Specs and characteristics

Dimensions 370 × 320 × 7.9 mm
Surface Hard plastic, micro-textured
Base Rubber
Charging Qi zone, localized
Lighting 15 individually customizable Aura Sync zones
Passthrough 1 × USB 2.0
Connection USB 2.0, Type-C to Type-A
Cables 2 m braided gold-plated Y-cable; 1 m Micro-USB charging cable
Software Armoury Crate, plus physical lighting and brightness controls
Warranty Not stated on the current product page

The Balteus Qi dates to around 2019 and remains documented on current ASUS and ROG pages, but the honest framing is that it is a hard RGB mouse pad with a Qi charger built into one region. The charging behaviour confirms it: an ASUS ROG Chakram or Chakram X must be parked over the Qi area to receive power, so the pad is not solving mouse battery anxiety the way POWERPLAY 2 does — it is relocating a phone charger onto the desk surface.

Its practical weaknesses are age and availability. The hard plastic surface is not a low-maintenance option — hard pads polish in the centre over time, and they pair less forgivingly with worn skates than cloth. US stock is inconsistent.

Pros

  • 15-zone Aura Sync RGB with physical controls
  • USB 2.0 passthrough for a dongle or peripheral
  • Verified charging for the ROG Chakram and Chakram X
  • Hard surface suits high-sensitivity users who want low friction

Cons

  • Older-generation product with unreliable US availability
  • Localized Qi only — the mouse must be parked
  • No published charging wattage on the current specification page
  • Hard plastic surface and a 7.9 mm profile

Verdict: worth it only for someone already running a Chakram, and only if the pad can be sourced from a seller with returns.

Perfect for: ROG Chakram or Chakram X owners who want a hard Aura-lit pad and a Qi zone in the same product.

Check the current price on Amazon

6. Manhattan XXL RGB 425513 — full specs and a three-year warranty

Specs and characteristics

Dimensions 800 × 300 × 4 mm, ~687 g
Surface Micro-textured woven cloth, water-resistant coating
Base Rubber, anti-slip
Charging Qi zone — 5 W / 7.5 W / 10 W
Input Micro-USB, 5 V/2 A to 9 V/2 A
Wireless output Up to 9 V/1.2 A
Charging distance Up to ~10 mm
Lighting RGB edge, seven colours plus effects, hardware controlled
Cable 1.8 m braided USB-A to Micro-USB
Adapter 9 V-capable adapter required for the higher mode, not included
Protections Foreign-object, over-temperature, over-current, over-voltage, short circuit
Warranty 3 years

Manhattan's 425513 has been in the catalogue since roughly 2021, and it is the most fully documented generic Qi mat on this list: published charging output, published input range, published effective charging distance and published protection circuitry. The three-year warranty is longer than every other pad here, including the two proprietary systems.

Two things to plan for. A 9 V-capable adapter is required to reach the higher charging mode and is not in the box, so a standard USB port will leave output on the table. And the charging zone is a corner coil like every other Qi mat — no mouse charges while it moves.

Pros

  • Published 10 W maximum output and 5 W / 7.5 W / 10 W profiles
  • Documented effective charging distance up to ~10 mm, which tolerates thicker cases
  • Three-year warranty
  • Over-temperature, over-current and foreign-object protection

Cons

  • Micro-USB input rather than USB-C
  • Requires a 9 V adapter for full output; not included
  • Corner coil, so no in-motion mouse charging
  • Enthusiast documentation is thin compared with Logitech or Razer

Verdict: the safest non-proprietary buy on this list for anyone who values documented electrical specifications over a magnetic gimmick.

Perfect for: buyers who want a large cloth RGB pad, a real warranty and a Qi zone specified in writing.

Check the current price on Amazon

7. Gimars G-RGB-W03 — lowest-cost route to XXL, RGB and Qi

Specs and characteristics

Dimensions ~800 × 300 mm
Thickness ~4 mm in US listing data; some regional listings state 5 mm
Surface Smooth fabric top
Base Rubber
Charging Qi, advertised up to 15 W
Power USB-C
Lighting RGB, approximately 10 selectable modes, hardware controlled
Treatment Spill-resistant surface
Warranty ~1 year per seller documentation

The G-RGB-W03 is the volume leader of the generic charging-mat tier, and the practical argument for it is straightforward: a full-width desk mat with RGB edge lighting and a Qi zone for roughly the price of a small branded pad. It is USB-C powered, it needs no software, and the lighting is controlled entirely on the hardware.

The limitation is documentation. There is no first-party engineering portal behind it — the specifications come from the listing — and the thickness varies between regional variants. Treat 15 W as a ceiling dependent on your adapter and phone, not a guaranteed rate.

Pros

  • Widest desk coverage per unit of spend in this tier
  • USB-C power input rather than the legacy Micro-USB used elsewhere
  • Hardware-only lighting control, no software
  • Spill-resistant surface treatment

Cons

  • No manufacturer technical or compatibility documentation
  • Thickness varies by variant
  • Advertised 15 W requires a suitable upstream adapter
  • No mouse compatibility list of any kind

Verdict: a sensible first charging mat if you want the feature set without committing to an ecosystem, and you accept listing-level specifications.

Perfect for: a first desk-mat upgrade where the phone charges overnight and the mouse never needed wireless power anyway.

Check the current price on Amazon

8. Miroddi charging RGB mat — a Qi mat with a magnetic phone stand

Specs and characteristics

Dimensions ~31.5 × 15.8 in (~800 × 400 mm)
Surface Fabric / micro-weave
Base Rubber, anti-slip
Charging Qi-compatible, advertised up to 15 W
Charging areas Magnetic phone charging plus a stand; separate earbud charging area
Lighting RGB perimeter, hardware controlled
Power USB-C, woven cable ~6.5 ft on the relevant variant
Warranty 1 year per retail documentation

Miroddi's mat takes the same generic formula and adds the feature that actually improves daily use: a magnetic stand that removes the alignment guesswork that plagues unmarked corner coils. The current variant also separates an earbud charging area from the phone area, so both can sit on the mat at once.

Be precise about what that means electrically. The listing advertises up to 15 W for phone charging; it does not state independent 15 W outputs for both charging areas, so "dual charging" should not be read as two simultaneous full-rate charges. And a raised phone stand turns this into a desk accessory first — the stand sits inside the mat's footprint, which matters if you want uninterrupted mousing width in front of the keyboard.

Pros

  • Magnetic phone alignment solves the coil-position problem
  • Separate earbud charging area
  • USB-C power with a long woven cable on the current variant
  • RGB perimeter lighting without software

Cons

  • Phone stand occupies part of the desk-mat footprint
  • No independent wattage figures published per charging area
  • No verified mouse compatibility
  • Lower-confidence sourcing than the large manufacturers

Verdict: the most convenient Qi mat for a phone-centric desk, provided you measure the stand's footprint before committing.

Perfect for: buyers who want the phone elevated at a readable angle while it charges, without adding a separate dock.

Check the current price on Amazon

9. TopMade HD76 left-side charger — keeps the phone out of the mousing arc

Specs and characteristics

Variant HD76, Black, Left Side Charger
Dimensions ~31.5 × 15.75 in
Thickness ~0.1 in / ~2.5 mm on the current ASIN
Construction Desk mat with rubber base; woven or faux-leather upper depending on listing wording
Charging Qi-compatible, advertised up to 15 W
Charging placement Left side
Lighting None on this variant
Software None

The HD76's differentiator is purely physical, and it is the right one: putting the charging zone on the far left keeps a charging phone out of the right-handed mousing arc, which is where coil placement conflicts actually bite. It is also thin at roughly 2.5 mm, so the pad stays close to the desk under the mouse.

Family specifications vary meaningfully across HD76 listings — thickness and materials differ by variant — so any comparison has to be tied to the exact ASIN rather than the model name. This variant carries no RGB, and it is the newest product on this list, having first appeared in Amazon availability in May 2025.

Pros

  • Left-side charging zone clear of the right-handed mousing arc
  • Thin ~2.5 mm profile
  • No software, no RGB power draw
  • 15 W advertised maximum

Cons

  • Product-family specifications vary across HD76 listings
  • No mouse compatibility certification
  • Unconfirmed warranty and adapter bundle for this specific ASIN
  • Lower-confidence documentation than the large manufacturers

Verdict: the pick for right-handed gamers who specifically want the phone away from where the mouse travels, and who do not want lighting.

Perfect for: a right-handed setup where the charging zone must stay out of the way of large horizontal swipes.

Check the current price on Amazon

Comparison table

Product Charging technology Charges a mouse during use Verified compatible mice Surface Warranty
Logitech G POWERPLAY 2 Proprietary in-motion Yes 11 Logitech G models Removable performance cloth 2 years
Razer HyperFlux V2 Proprietary in-motion Yes 6 Razer models Hard or cloth 1 year
JOURNEY ALTI PLAY Qi2, localized No None listed Fine-woven Lycra 1 year
JOURNEY ALTI LIFT Qi2, localized No None listed Reversible felt / PU leather 1 year
ASUS ROG Balteus Qi Qi, localized No ROG Chakram, Chakram X Hard plastic Not stated
Manhattan 425513 Qi, 10 W localized No None listed Micro-textured cloth 3 years
Gimars G-RGB-W03 Qi, up to 15 W localized No None listed Smooth fabric ~1 year
Miroddi charging RGB mat Qi, up to 15 W localized No None listed Fabric / micro-weave 1 year
TopMade HD76 left charger Qi, up to 15 W localized No None listed Woven / faux leather Not stated

Which wireless charging mouse pad should you buy?

You already own a compatible Logitech G mouse. Buy POWERPLAY 2. The 11-mouse list is the widest verified ecosystem, the surface layer is replaceable independently of the charging base, and the mouse keeps running while you use it. Check your exact model against the list before ordering — POWERCORE is not a Qi receiver and a third-party module will not work.

You run a Basilisk V3 Pro, Naga V2 Pro, Naga V3 Pro, Cobra Pro or Cobra HyperSpeed. HyperFlux V2 is your only in-motion option, and the hard or cloth edition decision is made once at purchase. If you want a Viper or a DeathAdder, no in-motion system covers you — see the wireless gaming mouse guide before assuming otherwise.

You want the mouse itself untouched. Nothing in the Qi half of this list will charge a mouse while it moves. If the goal is clearing phone clutter rather than mouse battery anxiety, the ALTI PLAY is the Qi2 pick for a gaming desk and the ALTI LIFT is the pick for an office desk.

You want to keep your current mouse and avoid ecosystem lock-in entirely. Skip both proprietary systems and buy a large conventional pad plus a standalone Qi charger. A 900 × 400 mm cloth or hybrid mat paired with a desk charger covers the same desk without a compatibility list. Our size-by-size gaming mat picks cover that decision.

You want the lowest-risk non-proprietary purchase. Manhattan 425513: published output figures, documented protection circuitry and a three-year warranty. It costs you a 9 V-capable adapter you probably do not own.

You want a phone stand built in. Miroddi, and check the stand's footprint against your keyboard position first.

You are on an all-metal desk. Do not buy POWERPLAY 2 or HyperFlux V2. Both are documented as not working correctly on fully metal surfaces.

You are buying for a laptop and want fewer cables. A dongle-versus-Bluetooth decision matters here; the connectivity guide covers which wireless route leaves a port free for a charging mat in the first place.

What about the Razer Mouse Dock Pro?

The Mouse Dock Pro is not a mouse pad, and it should not be counted among these picks. It is a compact charging dock, roughly 83.5 × 55.74 × 43 mm and 112 g, with a removable Qi-compatible puck, Chroma underglow and a built-in HyperPolling transceiver. It supports six current Razer mice: Basilisk V3 Pro, Basilisk V3 Pro 35K, Cobra HyperSpeed, Cobra Pro, Naga V2 Pro and Naga V3 Pro — a list that overlaps almost entirely with HyperFlux V2's, because both serve owners of the same mice.

The distinction is behavioural rather than technical. The dock charges a mouse you have parked and leaves the desk surface untouched; a charging mat keeps the mouse topped up where you are already using it. The puck itself works on other Qi-certified chargers, but Razer states it does not work with HyperFlux V2 because the two use different charging technologies. If you want the mouse charged without a pad, the dock is the smaller footprint answer; if you want it charged without a routine, it is not a substitute for either proprietary mat.

Legacy charging mats that still rank — and why to skip them

Three discontinued products continue to appear in search results, and one of them is still recommended as a current pick by other outlets.

Logitech G POWERPLAY (original, 2017). Announced 12 June 2017. The charging base measured 315 × 340 mm and included two interchangeable surfaces: a G240 cloth layer at 280 × 340 × 2 mm and a G440 hard layer at 280 × 340 × 1 mm. Unlike POWERPLAY 2, it had an integrated LIGHTSPEED receiver and a detachable 1.8 m cable, and it launched certified for the G903 LIGHTSPEED and G703 LIGHTSPEED. It has been replaced by POWERPLAY 2, and the launch compatibility list should not be back-filled with the newer system's 11 mice. The real problem in the current market is replacement economics: if the base, cable or POWERCORE fails, you are sourcing parts for a discontinued platform.

Corsair MM1000 (2018). A 350 × 260 mm hard plastic pad with a Qi-certified charging zone, a charge-status LED, a USB passthrough and a generous adapter bundle covering Micro-B, Lightning and USB-C. It weighed roughly 0.84 kg and carried a two-year warranty. Two things to know before buying residual stock: the mouse only charges while parked over the fixed coil, and Corsair's own page is internally inconsistent about the passthrough, describing it as USB 3.0 in marketing copy and USB 2.0 Type-A in the specification table. It is not a current-generation flagship.

Razer Mamba HyperFlux + Firefly HyperFlux (2018). The original HyperFlux system relied on a battery-less Mamba HyperFlux mouse, which means the mat was not an accessory to the mouse but a precondition for wireless operation. The Firefly HyperFlux measured roughly 355 × 282.5 × 12.9 mm, weighed 643 g without its cable, used Micro-USB and carried 15-zone-class Chroma lighting under Synapse 3. It has been superseded by HyperFlux V2, and the two generations are not cross-compatible: current HyperFlux V2 mice and its puck do not work with the original system. In current stock terms, matching hardware is scarce enough that this should not be a primary recommendation.

One more item worth flagging for anyone browsing: the current Keychron mouse pad is an ordinary polyester-and-rubber mat with no charging hardware, and the Qi chargers currently surfaced from UGREEN and Anker are standalone charging pads rather than integrated mouse mats. Neither brand currently offers an integrated wireless-charging desk mat, so a listing that implies otherwise is worth double-checking.

Frequently asked questions

Q: Will a wireless charging mouse pad charge my gaming mouse while I play?

Only if it is a proprietary in-motion system and your mouse is on its compatibility list. POWERPLAY 2 and HyperFlux V2 transfer power across the whole mousing surface through a dedicated module or puck. Every Qi and Qi2 mat in this list uses a localized coil, so the mouse has to be parked and aligned over it to charge — which means it is not charging during play.

Q: Can POWERPLAY 2 charge a phone or a pair of earbuds?

No. POWERPLAY 2 accepts no non-mouse devices. It works only with Logitech G mice carrying a POWERCORE module, and a standard Qi receiver cannot substitute for one. Phones and earbuds need a Qi mat such as the ALTI PLAY, ALTI LIFT or one of the generic charging mats.

Q: Can Razer HyperFlux V2 charge a phone?

No. HyperFlux V2 charges one compatible Razer mouse at a time through its proprietary puck and does not accept phones or generic Qi devices. If you want the same desk to charge a phone, you need a separate Qi mat or charger.

Q: Is the Mouse Dock Pro charging puck compatible with HyperFlux V2?

No. Razer states explicitly that the two pucks use different charging technologies. The Mouse Dock Pro's puck can be charged on other Qi-certified chargers, but it cannot be used with HyperFlux V2, and the two systems are not interchangeable.

Q: Does POWERPLAY 2 include the hard G440 surface?

No. The current package ships with the performance cloth surface only, and Logitech specifies that surface at 1.3 mm over a 2.2 mm base. The original 2017 POWERPLAY included both a G240 cloth insert and a G440 hard insert — several articles still describe POWERPLAY 2 using that older bundle.

Q: Do these charging mats work on a metal desk?

The two proprietary systems do not. Logitech and Razer both document that POWERPLAY 2 and HyperFlux V2 do not work correctly on a fully metal desk because the charging field is disrupted. Qi mats are not subject to the same in-motion field requirement, but a metal surface can still affect any wireless charging coil, so test before committing.

Q: Why is my Qi mat charging slower than its advertised wattage?

Because the headline figure is a ceiling. Delivered rate depends on the receiving device's supported protocol, the thickness of the case, how precisely the device is aligned over the coil, and the wall adapter feeding the pad. Manhattan's 10 W mode requires a 9 V-capable adapter that is not included, and JOURNEY recommends a 30 W or higher USB-C charger for the ALTI LIFT. Use the specified power source before concluding the pad is faulty.

Q: Is the Corsair MM1000 still worth buying?

Generally no. It is a 350 × 260 mm hard plastic pad from 2018, and it charges a mouse only while that mouse is parked over its fixed coil. Its residual appeal is the bundled Micro-B, Lightning and USB-C adapters and the Qi certification, but availability is inconsistent and Corsair keeps it documented rather than actively sold. A current Qi2 desk mat or a proprietary system is the better buy.

Conclusion

The decision comes down to one question: do you want the mouse charged, or do you want the desk decluttered? If it is the mouse, the answer is POWERPLAY 2 for a compatible Logitech G mouse and HyperFlux V2 for a Basilisk, Naga or Cobra — and the honest cost of either is that it only pays off if you stay inside that manufacturer's mouse list. If it is the desk, the ALTI PLAY is the strongest current Qi2 mat for a gaming setup, the ALTI LIFT is the productivity counterpart, and the Manhattan 425513 is the best-documented generic option with a three-year warranty behind it.

Whatever you choose, verify two things before ordering. First, the exact mouse model against the manufacturer's own compatibility page if you are buying a proprietary system — not a retailer's summary. Second, your desk material and your wall adapter, because a metal desk will defeat an in-motion mat and an underpowered USB port will quietly halve a Qi mat's output.

If you are still deciding how much pad area you need, start with the size and surface fundamentals before adding charging: our glass pad roundup covers the low-friction end of the market, the skates replacement guide explains why hard and glass surfaces wear feet faster, the bungee guide is relevant if you are staying wired, and the custom pad guide covers artwork and custom dimensions for anyone who wants the charging hardware on a mat they designed themselves.

→ Check the current price of the Logitech G POWERPLAY 2 on Amazon

Share:

You might also like